TUC Library has put together a collection of proprietary and free databases to help you meet your information needs. These databases are listed alphabetically below.
Also, explore our Library Research guides to see the databases most relevant to a particular subject area and to find other materials and tools to help you with your course work.
Please note: You will need a library barcode for off-campus access for all databases not indicated as "FREE." Please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian if you encounter access issues with any of the following databases.
5 Minute Consult (Wolters Kluwer) - Digital access to thousands of diseases and conditions complete with workflow algorithms, procedure and PT videos, CME/CE credits, thousands of images. 5MinuteConsult provides diagnosis, treatment, and management information on the most frequently observed diseases and conditions.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) - Comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key newspapers, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. International coverage offers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) - A scholarly, multi-disciplinary collection offering coverage of information in many areas of study.
Academic Writer (American Psychological Association) - Formerly known as APA Style Central, Academic Writer is the new and improved writing resource from APA. There are three centers to explore: the Writing Center, the Learning center, and the Reference Center, each providing tutorials, quizzes, short videos, and tools to help you write the best papers you can in APA Style.
AccessMedicine (McGraw Hill) - This online resource provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 60 medical titles, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
*For mobile app information, please see our Mobile Resources guide.*
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection (McGraw Hill) - Offers the best-selling Case Files® content in an interactive format. Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
AccessPharmacy (McGraw Hill) - A comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource that allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, and research drugs and supplements. Also contains multimedia, case files, interactive self-assessment, and NAPLEX review.
*For mobile app information, please see our Mobile Resources guide.*
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (ProQuest) - This is the quintessential accountant's database. It brings together highly ranked global and scholarly journals with key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.
African Index Medicus (WHO) [FREE!] - Supported by the World Health Organization, AIM is an international index to African health and biomedical information sources, including regional journals.
American Diabetes Association eBook Collection - This collection focuses on diabetes care and management and includes topics such as nutrition and exercise therapies, drug risks for diabetics, living with diabetes, hypoglycemia, and much more. The collection includes case studies, reference materials, guides, and sourcebooks.
American Heart Association eBook Collection - This collection focuses on heart and cardiovascular health and includes topics such as preventing high blood pressure, pediatric CPR, emergency cardiovascular care, and much more. The titles include workbooks, manuals, and guideline updates.
Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures/Informa) - Interactive anatomy study tools that let you explore parts of the human body in 3D, including a clinical specialty anatomy study tool focusing on neuroanatomy of the head and neck. A session with twenty (20) minutes or longer of inactivity will be logged off automatically.
Annals of Internal Medicine (American College of Physicians) - This resource is filled with information intended to promote the health and wellness of people around the world. There is a wealth of information related to internal medicine including original research, review articles, practice guidelines, as well as insights from practitioners about clinical practice, health care delivery, public health, health care policy, medical education, ethics, and research methodology. There are also podcasts with expert guests, a career section to search for jobs and post your CV, and exclusive web content beyond the journal itself.
APA Style CENTRAL (American Psychological Association) - See Academic Writer.
Asian & European Business Collection (ProQuest) - This database focuses on business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere. It covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination (Wolters Kluwer) - The Bates' videos demonstrate head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques on different types of patients. The OSCE videos are designed to help with preparation for Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCEs) by testing clinical reasoning skills. Each video presents a clinical encounter and you are given the opportunity to develop an assessment, or differential diagnosis, and provide an appropriate diagnostic workup. Note: this resource may not be accessible on all mobile devices.
Biology Database (ProQuest) - Articles from scholarly journals and magazines on a wide range of biology topics.
Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) - Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. In-depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) - Scholarly business database including more than 1,200 journals dating back to 1986.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (ProQuest) - This database, with 600 full text titles, is a comprehensive Canadian reference collection. CBCA Complete features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
Career & Technical Education Database (ProQuest) - This a source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
Certified in Public Health Study Guide (Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health) - The ASPPH CPH study guide provides information about the CPH exam, strategies and tips to assist you in performing your best on the exam, chapters on each of the five core areas of public health, the seven cross-cutting competency areas. Please contact a Librarian for the username and password.
Chronicle of Higher Education *Premium Access* - Premium access to this journal provides access to exclusive content, including videos, the Almanac of Higher Education, special reports, forums, a job search platform, faculty salary data, and more. Topics covered in this publication include, but are not limited to, administration, teaching, leadership, governance, technology, research, publishing, and much more. Also available through A-Z Journals listings.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) - Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. CINAHL also includes literature on world-wide OMM research and indexes the International journal of Osteopathic Medicine, Journal of the American Osteopathic Association, and others.
ClinicalKey (Elsevier) - ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's content from medical, surgical, pharmaceutical, patient education and more into one dynamic resource. ClinicalKey provides access to over 900 books and 500 journals, 1,400 topic pages, thousands of videos and millions of images.
Clinical Pharmacology (Elsevier)- A Gold Standard database, provides drug and drug-related information, consumer drug information handouts, a drug identifier, product comparison reports, drug interaction reports, compatibility reports, a drug finding tool, clinical comparison reports, and a resource center.
ClinicalTrials.gov (NIH) - A resource that provides easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions conducted in all 50 States and in 195 countries. ClinicalTrials.gov also contains records describing observational studies and programs providing access to investigational drugs outside of clinical trials.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) - The Cochrane Library includes seven distinct databases in its collection:
- The Cochrane Methodology Register,
- The Cochrane Methodology Register offers a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews,
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials,
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliography of controlled trials.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects,
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects includes abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care.
- Health Technology Assessment Database,
- HTA brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the HTA database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care.
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database,
- NHS assists decision-makers by systematically identifying economic evaluations from around the world, appraising their quality, and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.
- The About the Cochrane Collaboration database
- This database contains information on the 81 groups the make up the Cochrane Collaboration.
*For mobile app information, please see our Mobile Resources guide.*
Computing Database (ProQuest) - This database is a resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search resources dating back to the early 1990's.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) - ProQuest's Criminal Justice is a database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other research material.
Dissertations & Theses @ Touro (ProQuest) - This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced
by students in the Touro College and University System.
Dissertations & Theses Full Text: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection (ProQuest) - A comprehensive collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, this database covers more than 1 million dissertations and theses.
Drug Information Portal (NIH) [FREE!] - Provides users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.
Drugs and Lactation Database - LactMed (NIH) [FREE!]- Provides information on drug levels in breast milk, blood levels in breastfed infants, alternate drugs that might be used during breastfeeding, and more.
eBookCentral (ProQuest) - EBL and ebrary ebook platforms merged to create the eBookCentral ebook platform. In order to access the ebooks on the eBookCentral platform, you will first need to create a personal account (username and password) by clicking 'create new account.' You can then log in to read ebooks online. To download ebooks on a desktop or laptop install the free Adobe Digital Editions application and the Bluefire Reader app to access a downloaded title on a mobile device.
EBSCO eBook Collection - Search and view the full text of ebooks. EBSCO eBooks can be downloaded and read
offline for loan periods of up to 7 days.
EBSCO (All Databases) - Gateway to all EBSCO databases, which cover health, medicine, business, education, and more. Select individual databases or search multiple databases together. Note: Searching multiple databases together will limit search options.
Education Database (ProQuest) - Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.
Education Full Text (EBSCO) - Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale) - Selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are of articles indexed in the ERIC database.
EMBASE (Elsevier) - A comprehensive international biomedical literature database, with articles from 1947 and on, this resource has over 32 million (yes, MILLION!) records. These records include conference abstracts; drug, disease, and medical device data; 2,900 unique journals; and includes MEDLINE titles. Tools to help with your research include a PICO search page, in-depth indexing to create highly targeted searches, journal searching, and more.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) (EBSCO) - An online digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. The ERIC collection includes annotated bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) for more than 1.2 million items indexed since 1966, including: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
Exam Master Online - A USMLE, COMLEX, Certification Review Series, Medical Subject Review, PANCE, and NAPLEX preparation and review tool that provides access to thousands of basic and clinical sciences questions. It provides students with the ability to create very customized practice exams and study blocks. First-time users must self-register for a personal Exam Master account (see link on Exam Master home page). The TUC Library also has available Exam Master Academic Manager for TUC faculty use only. TUC Faculty please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian.
*TUC Alumni maintain access to Exam Master for one year after graduation.*
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers (Clinical Drug Information) - F&C is a drug information resource used in many community pharmacies. F&C offers Trissel's IV Compatibility, the ability to search for drugs by disease or symptom, a drug interaction tool, interactive comparative drug tables, advanced dosing tools, online access to Drug Facts & Comparisons and Review of Natural Products, and more.
Family Health Database (Proquest) - This database includes journals and magazines covering a range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
Google Scholar (Google) - With LinkOut to TUC full-text, a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) - This research database provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) - Coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Health Management Database (ProQuest) - Collection of relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) - Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Health Technology Assessment (HTA) Database (Wiley)The HTA brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the HTA database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care.
Hesperian Health Guides (FREE!) - Hesperian is a non-profit publisher of books, newsletters, and other resources for global, community-based health care.
HighWire Press (FREE!) - Large repository of high impact, peer-reviewed content, with 1165 scholarly publications and more than 4 million full text articles from over 140 scholarly publishers.
Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region (WHO) [FREE!] - Supported by the World Health Organization, IMEMR is an international index to health and biomedical information sources, including regional journals, from the Eastern Mediterranean Region (19 countries in Asia and North Africa).
Index Medicus for the South-East Region (WHO) [FREE!] - Supported by the World Health Organization, IMSEAR is an international index to health and biomedical information sources, including regional journals, from the South-East Asian Region (11 countries including India, Indonesia, Korea, Thailand).
Index to Jewish Periodicals (EBSCO) - Provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
JAMAevidence (McGraw Hill) - is an evidence-based medicine e-resource containing three textbooks: Users’ Guide to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3rd ed., by Gordon Guyatt, et al; The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis by David Simel and Drummond Rennie, and Care at the Close of Life; evidence and Experience by Stephen J. McPhee et al. Each textbook is substantially supplemented with “education guides” consisting of PowerPoint slide sets aimed at instruction and learning of evidence-based medicine (EBM) concepts. Other tools in JAMAevidence include a glossary of some 900 EBM terms, calculators to illustrate statistical and mathematical relationships in EBM, ability to create a “my access account,” access to a weekly JAMA RSS feed, and audio files of EBM concept discussions recorded by experts in the field. Quick Complete Overview of JAMAevidence in this 9 min video.
JAMA Network - Access to JAMA and the 9 Archives journals published by the American Medical Association,
plus multimedia and other features.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database - Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is published by the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). The Institute is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information from across the globe, as well as the tools that help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence–based practice program and provide the best possible patient care. The Institute’s EBP Database includes a comprehensive range of resources including over 3,000 records across seven publication types. They include literature reviews, recommended practices and procedures, information guideline sheets, comprehensive systematic reviews and protocols, consumer information sheets and technical reports.
JSTOR- Full-text from selected journals. TUC has the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VII; Business II; and Health & General Sciences.
LearnTechLib (Global U) - The Digital Library is an online resource of international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
Lexicomp (Wolters Kluwer) - Lexicomp is a provider of drug information and clinical content for the healthcare industry. Lexicomp provides tools necessary to help improve patient safety, ensure compliance, and elevate the quality of care patients receive. TUC Faculty please contact the Electronic Resources Librarian for access to one of the limited number of licenses the library has to the Lexicomp mobile app, Lexi-Complete.
LWW Health Library (Wolters Kluwer) - TUC subscribes to the Premium Pharmacy Collection with the Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking 11th ed, and other textbooks of interest to COP, COM, and PA. The Health Library also includes case studies and procedures related to the texts, as well as a searchable database of images. There are also thousands of review questions related to the texts that can be used for course and NAPLEX review.
MANTIS (HealthIndex) - Indexes peer-reviewed articles from the chiropractic, osteopathic, homeopathic, and manual medicine literature from 1900-present. Also covers alternative medicine literature.
Martindale (Wolters Kluwer) - An international drug reference that provides a thorough review of pharmaceutical products available worldwide including the identification of medications, local equivalents, manufacturers, and more. Martindale is available from the Lexicomp website.
The Medical Letter - A searchable drug database consisting of evidence-based, peer-reviewed evaluations of new FDA-approved drugs with conclusions reached by a consensus of experts. Provides new information on previously approved drugs including pivotal clinical trials, new indications, and safety warnings. Also includes comparative reviews of drugs for a given indication with particular attention to clinical efficacy, adverse effects, drug interactions, and cost. The ability to earn up to 52 online credits CME/CE per user, per year. The Medical Letter is fully accredited by the ACCME, AAFP, and ACPE. Free downloadable mobile app for access on your handheld device.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO) - Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
MICROMEDEX (Truven Health Analytics) - A comprehensive source for drug information. Search for dosage, pharmacokinetics, cautions, interactions, comparative efficacy, clinical applications and place in therapy for investigational, international, FDA-approved, and nonprescription preparations. Also features comparative drug summaries in a side-by-side format, multi-level therapeutic class tree, and drug images for easier identification. MICROMEDEX in-depth tutorial.
*For information about the Micromedex mobile App see the Mobile Resources guide.*
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) - Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Military Database (ProQuest) - Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more. It includes over 550 titles, with more than 370 available in full-text.
National Guideline Clearinghouse (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) [FREE!] - A searchable public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Natural Medicines (Therapeutic Research Center) - Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. This is a resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. Also includes resources on sports medicine.
*If you are interested in the mobile app see Mobile Resources guide for more information.*
NCBI Bookshelf (NIH) [FREE!] - A collection of biomedical books and reports made available through authors, publishers, and the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
Netter Reference (Elsevier) - Images from Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, Professional Edition, 6th Edition. You can customize images for specific tasks and export custom images to use in Microsoft PowerPoint® and other presentation software.
New York Times - Register for an account for all-digital access to the New York Times from 1851 to current. For articles from 1923 to 1980 each individual is limited to 5 articles per day. Register for an account. Email addresses must be re-registered after 364 days.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest) - Search the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world, as well as nearly 300 Canadian newspapers.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO) - Provides cover to cover full-text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. Also contains full-text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Wiley) - NHS assists decision-makers by systematically identifying economic evaluations from around the world, appraising their quality, and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) - Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books, and more.
Nursing Collection on E-book Library (McGraw Hill Education) - This is a collection of 38 e-books pertaining to various aspects of nursing and general medicine including books on evidence-based practice; laboratory and diagnostic tests; critical care nursing, transcultural nursing.
Ovid eBooks – eBooks available on the Ovid platform.
Ovid Journals – Full text articles from eJournals available on the Ovid platform.
Ovid Nursing Database - The premier Nursing Database offering full-text access to among the most highly
regarded Nursing Journals.
OxResearch Database (ProQuest) - This database provides succinct analytical articles covering the world
and regional economic and political developments of major significance. It evaluates
issues and events within a coherent political, social and economic framework. Additionally,
it contains objective, multi-disciplinary articles compiled by an extensive international
network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around
the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing.
PAEasy (McGraw Hill) - is a test review resource for the PANCE and PANCRE exams. Students in the PA program can use this resource to review while on rotations. Features included timed and untimed tests, adaptive questions, and other resources to help students strengthen key knowledge areas.
***To create a new account, click HERE, then click on Institutional Sign-Up. If you already have an account, follow links to Institutional Sign-In.***
Pediatric Care Online (American Academy of Pediatrics) - Includes a point-of-care quick reference tool, full text of the AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care, Bright Futures, a Visual Library containing hundreds of images, AAP policy, Red Book content, pediatric drug look-up, pediatric patient education handouts, and more.
*For mobile app information, please see our Mobile Resources guide.*
Pharmacology World (Stat!REF) - This resource provides access to over 50 videos covering the key concepts of pharmacology and all major drug classes. These videos are succinct and short, so you will be able to focus on the exact topics you need to cover. Developed by Dr. Michael W. Lee, who has been teaching pharmacology to hundreds of students for many years, his experience as an instructor has provided him with insight on the topics with which students have the most troubles. The videos provide simple, well-organized instruction on the most consistently problematic concepts in the field of pharmacology. For more information on this resource, check out this handout.
PharmacyLibrary (APhA) - Includes textbooks (eBooks) published by American Pharmacists Association; active learning exercises and case studies; NAPLEX review; clinical and practice news; and more. Note: This resource is not available to off-campus adjunct faculty.
Political Science Database (ProQuest) - This database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text to many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
POPLINE (Knowledge for Health Project) [FREE!] - World's largest database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID).
Prescriber's Letter (Therapeutic Research Center) is the leading information source for prescribers on drug therapy recommendations and medical information. One popular feature of the Prescriber Letter online is the ability to earn CE/CME credits in a number of ways— the monthly letter, online searches, home study courses, archived and live webinars. PLEASE NOTE: TUC Library has a license for two concurrent users.
In addition, users can search journal issues, access CME-As-You-Go and PL Voices Interactive Webinar series, read practice-related and disease-related charts and much more. Download the "Quick Start Guide" to get started.
*For mobile app information, please see our Mobile Resources guide.*
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) - Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
ProQuest (All Databases) - Access to multiple databases that include over 13,000 journals and newspapers covering business, education, social sciences, the arts, and medicine; many full-text.
PsychiatryOnline (American Psychiatric Association) - PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that features DSM-5 —the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) - Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) - Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Provided by the American Psychological Association (APA).
PubChem (NIH) [FREE!] - Database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. It is maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed with LinkOut to full-text (NIH) - A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to
over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's. PubMed is the first database
to search when looking for biomedical and life science journal articles, clinical
trials, reviews, and more. PubMed has an array of short video tutorials from basic searching to MeSH terms.
Red Book Online (AAP) - Developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Committee on Infectious Diseases to provide guidance on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 common childhood conditions. Includes immunization schedules. Has mobile App; see Mobile Resources guide for more information.
Red Book Online (MICROMEDEX) - is the essential resource healthcare professionals reach for every day to find the latest drug product pricing and packaging information on prescription and over-the-counter drug products. By providing all of the drug product pricing and packaging data you need in one source, RED BOOK Online simplifies the identification, analysis, and comparison of drug and non-drug items. RED BOOK Online supports formulary management, cost containment, and drug utilization review, and provides consistent and unbiased Average Wholesale Price (AWP) pricing information for brand name and generic drugs.
Note: TUC Library has license for 5 users.
Religion Database (ProQuest) - This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) - Comprehensive full-text coverage for more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Research Library (ProQuest) - ProQuest Research Library provides access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases. Search from a diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
SAGE Research Methods - SAGE offers this research methods tool which can be used across the disciplines. As it focuses on methodology, SAGE Research Methods can help with the design of research projects, identification of research methods, and write up of completed research projects. SAGE provides helpful tutorials to get you started using this helpful resource.
SAGE Research Methods Cases - SAGE offers this research methods tool which can be used across the disciplines.
As it focuses on methodology, SAGE Research Methods can help with the design of research
projects, identification of research methods, and write up of completed research projects.
- As a companion to SAGE Research Methods, SAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of case studies from real and original social research.
Sanford Guide Web Edition (Antimicrobial Therapy Inc.) - integrates Antimicrobial Therapy, HIV/AIDS Therapy, and Viral Hepatitis Therapy into a single web site. Designed for point of care, this database provides comprehensive coverage of treatment options for infectious diseases, syndromes, and pathogens. Features include over 1,000 topic pages, multi-term search, interactive dosing tables, activity spectra, calculators, and more. There is also a mobile app. If you are interested, click here to register. If you have any questions, please contact Electronic Services Librarian, Julie Horwath.
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) - This is a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals geared toward meeting the scientific communication needs of developing countries. 15 countries are represented in its journal collections including Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Paraguay is developing a journal collection. Available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Science / AAAS Online - Access to the journal Science, plus online extras including Science Express and ScienceNOW.
Science Database (ProQuest) - Features over 1030 titles in both the applied and general sciences, with more than 760 titles available in full text and coverage dating back to 1986.
ScienceDirect (College Edition Journal Collection - Health and Life Sciences) (Elsevier) - A science, technology, and medicine full text and bibliographic information
database containing e-books and articles from more than 900 Elsevier journals.
Scopus (Elsevier) - The largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources from around the world. Scopus offers smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. It is a comprehensive resource to support research needs across all disciplines.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) - Indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, covering a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) - This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO) - Covers all areas of sports & sports medicine literature with full-text coverage for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
STATdx (Elsevier) - Imaging point-of-care, diagnostic clinical decision support system. It is designed to support the practicing radiologist, pathologist and other imaging professionals by increasing speed, accuracy and diagnostic confidence in complex cases. Please contact the Electronic Resources/Instruction Librarian, for the login information, and note that there can only be one STATdx user at a time.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) - Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Teaching Assistant Anatomy (Thieme) - A presentation and study tool that contains all 2000+ illustrations and images from Gilroy's Atlas of Anatomy, 2d ed., as well as additional content from Head and Neck Anatomy for Dental Medicine. The Teaching Assistant allows one to export images as individual files or embed into PowerPoint slides or PDFs.
Telecommunications Database (ProQuest) - This database is a resource for anyone researching the telecommunications industry or its technology including latest news on WAP technology, following market penetration of new technologies, or gathering information about the key players in this field. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. Search more than 600,000 records, dating back to the early 1990's.
TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) (NIH) [FREE!] - A cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and related areas. It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program in the Division of Specialized Information Services of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice) [FREE!] - Clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. The evolution of the TRIP Database has been guided by the desire to answer real clinical questions using the principles of evidence-based medicine.
UpToDate (Wolters Kluwer) - Provides topic reviews that include a synthesis of the literature, the latest evidence, and specific recommendations for patient care. UpToDate is used to answer questions quickly, increase your clinical knowledge, check for changes to drug monographs, and improve patient care.
Please note: UpToDate requires that you register for an account from within the TUC network. The UpToDate login also includes free access to the UpToDate mobile app. Once you have registered the mobile app will recognize that you are affiliated with Touro University California as you install the app. Please be aware that your account with UpToDate will expire after 90 days of inactivity. If this occurs, just login using above UpToDate link to restore your access.
USP Dictionary (U.S. Pharmacopeia) - Online access to the USP-NF; established drug names and other essential drug information. To access contact Julie Horwath, the Electronic Resources Librarian, for username and password.
USP Food Chemicals Codex (U.S. Pharmacopeia) - Online access to the Food Chemicals Codex (FCC). To access
this resource, you simply need to create an account.
Please note: the account for this resources will also gain you access to USP National Formulary.
USP National Formulary (U.S. Pharmacopeia) - Online access to the USP-NF; source for FDA-enforceable quality standards for drugs, dietary supplements, excipients, procedures for tests, assays, analytical methods. To access this resource, you simply need to create an account.
Please note: the account for this resources will also gain you access to USP Food Chemicals Codex.
Virtual Health Library (VHL) (WHO) [FREE!] - Supported by the World Health Organization, the VHL is an international index to health and biomedical information sources from Latin America and the Caribbean. The VHL includes LILACS (Literature in the Health Sciences in Latin America and the Caribbean), which indexes hundreds of regional journals not included in PubMed.
Copyright 2005 - 2019, Touro University, All Rights Reserved.